Skip to content

Choctalking on Other Realities – New Book Out! (and more)

September 29, 2013
A collection of story stories about my adventures in travel

A collection of story stories about my adventures in travel

It’s been nearly nine months since I last posted on my blog.  I know what you’re thinking, “deadbeat,” “lay-about” or, give up on that “Bloganista of the year” award!  All true.  Seriously though,  I’ve been doing more than hanging outside the $1 Movie House off Ben White Street in Austin, Texas.  ( I only did that a couple of times.)

Check this out.

 Seeing Red, Hollywood’s Pixeled Skins: American Indians and Film http://msupress.org/books/book/?id=50-1D0-262D#.Ukh2eGRNZy came out in March 2013.   YAH! markowitz3 (2)

Above is my newest, hot-off-the-press collection of adventure travel stories Choctalking on Other Realities just out http://auntlute.com/  YAH! YAH!  

Both these books took a long while to cook up.  Seeing Red, Pixeled Skins: American Indians and Film co-edited with Harvey Markowitz, and Denise Cummings was a hundred years in the making.  Our original editors died.  Harvey, Denise and I had to keep buying high-priced shots of a potion called “Fountain of Youth”  from a person near the $1 Movie House on Ben White Street in Austin, Texas — just to keep going.   Then we died.  But the book lives on in our names.  It contains 36 lively essays on classic Hollywood films about American Indians written by the “best of the best” scholars in American Indian Studies. Some chapters titles include: “NDNs: The Young and the Restless”;  “Indians With Fangs,” “You mean, I’m A White Guy?”   (In that chapter we’re talking about all the white men in classic Hollywood films that have identity crisis once they marry Native women.)  It’s funny and informative — a good combination for a book about Hollywood Indians.

Well, I don’t know what to say about Choctalking on Other Realities. A quirky book by an even quirkier dead writer.  That sounds about right.  It’s short stories and theories about American Indians, set in Japan, Jordan, Jerusalem, Romania, New Orleans, and locations across America.  I try and open up in the stories about the things  I carry, or embody as a writer.  I hope you will buy it and let me know what you think!

Coming up next:  How I spent my summer vacation!  Here’s a sneak preview:

Learning, well trying to learn to swallow fire

Learning, well trying to learn to swallow fire for research purposes only.  I’m writing a new play co-authored with Monique Mojica.  Oh yeah, Monique was much braver than me!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

