Skip to content

Off to Santa Barbara Women’s Literary Festival 4/29, my b-day!

April 26, 2010

This week, I’m heading to Santa Barbara, California to the Women’s Literary Festival, held yearly during April.  My friend from Carleton College days, (when we were both visiting assistant professors) Marisela Marquez, interviewed me this past week on KCSB’s radio program No Alibis.  Co-host Elizabeth Robinson also asked about the writing process, and my first novel Shell Shaker.  We talked about other craft issues like plot, POV, and why I choose to write about Choctaw Indians and our history.  I’m jazzed about the festival and getting to interact with the other women writers. For those in the Santa Barbara area, here’s a link to the festival website. http://www.womensliteraryfestival.com/authors.php

I was in good company on KCSB’s No Alibis.  My colleague here at the University of Illinois, Dave Roediger, Professor of History and African American Studies was on their program March 31, talking about  his recently published collection of writings by radical historian and Marxist sociologist George Rawick.  The book is entitled Listening to Revolt: The Selected Writings of George P. Rawick, ed. David Roediger (Chicago: Charles H. Kerr Publishing, 2010). YAH!

I also want to offer a shout out to Allison Hedge Coke who brought me to University of Nebraska, Kearney to give a reading. I enjoyed meeting students from all over, including, Gaonan XU [above left].  Gaonan is an English teacher in Shandong University at Weihai and currently studies at University of Nebraska at Kearney.  She’s also a student in Dr. Suzanne Bloomfield’s graduate literature class.  Her grad class was reading Miko Kings and asked a lot of questions about the “Eye Tree” and what it represented for the character of Lena Coulter.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2010 2:47 pm

    Happy Birthday LeAnne!!!!!!

  2. LeAnne Howe permalink
    May 3, 2010 12:05 am

    tks Jay! Spent it working in Santa Barbara. I was there giving a writer’s workshop and then a talk about American Indians. Boy, everyone I met in California, [nearly] is upset by the Arizona law on racial profiling. I learned a lot about strategies that people are working on out there.

    Hope to see you in Oklahoma soon,

    achukma,
    LeAnne

Leave a Reply

