Skip to content

It’s 2010! Where have I been?

January 7, 2010

Five things I’ve been doing during the holidays:

1) Resting, getting plenty of sleep, drinking lots of water, and hot teas, and watching the wind blow the leaves around in the yard, that is, until the snows came.  It’s been very cold here in Oklahoma this past December.  My only option has been to sit in front of a roaring fireplace with my blankie and a good book.

2) Not watching the news.  Believe me when I say I’m glad I missed the whole “Tea Party thingy.”  Plus, I missed the news of the Nigerian boy who tried to lite his underwear on fire — on an airplane.  There’s some kind of weird irony in lighting one’s shorts, just after a meal of beans and rice, thinking you’re so powerful you can blow an airliner out of the sky.  I was about a week behind in learning about the incident.

3) Reading.  I’ve been at it.  There are some great new books out right now, and manuscripts of books about to be published.  Watch for X-Marks by Scott Lyons, Ojibwe.  A great read.

4) Learning to be a Vegan in 2010.  It’s not as bad as I thought it was going to be.  Well, I have not given up fish and eggs, so technically, I’m no vegan.  But I’ve made some great soups over the holidays.  My favorite is the Pear/Acorn squash soup with adzuki beans.  My friend Cindy Cleary also introduced me to this great cookbook, Veganomicon.  If you love winter soups as I do, this is the one book to buy. I’m discovering that it is possible to move our bodies toward good health with the right foods.

5) Spending time with family and friends is the best medicine.  I’ve seen my cousins, my children, my grandchildren and neighbors over the holidays.  Those of us that write have been reading each other’s work.  Or we’ve talked of future art projects, future garden projects, made some long-range travel plans, listened to jazz, blues, and even opera together. Below is a pix of my son Randy Craig, and his daughters, Chelsey, [standing next to me], and Alyssa, on the far right.

Tomorrow night, January 7, 7-8:30 p.m. some of the Salonaires from last summer,  poets Ken Hada, Sandra Soli; songwriter and poet Phil Morgan;  Chickasaw storyteller Lorie Robbins, and I will  read from our latest work, or tell a story at the Ada Heritage Center, in Ada, Oklahoma.  The public is invited.  It’s free.  If you are in the area come and hang out with us.  Should be fun.

One Comment leave one →
  1. annharvey permalink
    January 28, 2010 7:14 pm

    I’ve really enjoyed browsing your excellent blog..
    ‘They Called It Counting Coup’ really caught my eye..
    and look forward to purchasing Miko Kings .. !
    It sound fascinating ..

    I’ve been polishing my 1st novel .. Diamond Walker
    Which lives online at http://diamondwalker.wordpress.com
    You may find it intriguing.. a 19 year old Nuu-chah-nulth baseball player
    from Vancouver Island, Canada.. with distinctly Shaman heritage..

    I look forward to revisiting your blog.. its just exceptional !

    Best regards,

    Tom

    Thomas D’Arcy O’Donnell
    Toronto, Canada

Leave a Reply

