Skip to content

Indian Territory Art House, a work in progess

September 16, 2009

100_1569Now that fall is just around the corner, I’m happy to report that the Indian Territory Art House is nearing completion. We brought the property next door to my grandmother’s house in July.  My grandmother’s house (now ours) served as a model for the Day family in Miko Kings. (Yes, Jay you are right about that.) We gutted the interior and have put in new wiring, walls, roof, plumbing, etc.   Art House will also be a Writer’s Retreat and can host up to two writers at a time.  While it’s missing the stain glass windows, new trim on the exterior, and some funky colors that we’ll pattern after the Painted Lady’s in San Francisco, we hope to have it finished by December.  Art House will host Salon Ada each June.   Salonaires  have come to Ada from as far away as Colorado, Canada, and Ohio.

Seated here are Jacki Rand and Jim Wilson, relaxing with green tea lattes, guitar, laptop, and wireless connection.  The Writer’s Retreat will have all the amenities, including a backyard arbor with peach, pair, apple, fig and plum trees.  Woo-woo.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2009 9:28 am

    Great pic of Jim and Jackie,,I hope to hear Jim’s music stylings in the near future,,was wonderful to see you guys at the “Uprising” in Tuskahoma,,we really had a nice time down there this year,,,was very nice to meet Jacki,,tell her and Lara Mann hello for us,,

    Power to You

    Jay Watson
    jwatson23@msn.com
    http://www.facebook.com/jaywatsonfeelsgroovy

    ps: Tell Jacki the next shirt we win is hers…..smiles…….

  2. September 19, 2009 11:10 am

    Let me try this again. I lost my earlier comment somehow,,LeAnne it was great to see you and Jim at the “Uprising” at Tushkahoma,,and was certainly nice to meet Jacki Rand. I hope to hear Jim’s musical styling in the near future and that is a great pic of him and Jacki. We have about 2 more tourneys and then we are done for the year. Tell Lara Mann we said hello and hope to see you guys in the near future. Tell Jacki the next shirt we win is hers..lol….

    Jay Watson
    jwatson23@msn.com
    http://www.facebook.com/jaywatsonfeelsgroovy

  3. September 19, 2009 11:11 am

    Well,,apparently my earlier comment was not lost,,I repeated it because it appeared that it got deleted somehow..I dunno,,oh well,,lol,,

    Jay Watson

  4. September 21, 2009 9:00 am

    Hi Jay:

    The next time you see me, I’ll be wearing one of those terrific ball game shirts! I’m going to put up a picture, too! I recently gave an academic talk at Washington and Lee University in Virginia about how ancient Choctawans developed the root game of base and ball, about 4000 thousand years ago. It’s from the book Lara Mann and I are working on. There were other academics in the audience and I was surprised by their interest and acceptance, as far as my research goes. Will see what happens next.

Leave a Reply

