Skip to content

The Historic Choctaw Nation Council House

August 6, 2009

tuskahoma.

Gets a redux!

For those planning on attending the Choctaw Nation’s Labor Day Festival at Tushka Homa, September 4, 5, 6, 2009 you’re in for a surprise.  This year the plaza in front of the Council House is being remodeled and beautified.  When a friend and I visited Tushka Homa last week, stone masons were working on a circular rock wall and walking path around the building.  I took this photo from the historic village grounds and from that vantage point I would swear that the tin roof has been refreshed in bright red paint.

It was a 104- plus-day, but this year’s Labor Day entertainment is even hotter than the temps. The opening act begins at 6 p.m. Friday night at the Pavilion with the Randy Rogers Band, followed by Billy Currington at 8 p.m.  Wynonna Judd then takes center stage at 10 p.m. to smack the pretty.  She’s coming straight to Choctaw Country from the 10th anniversary TV show, “Who Wants to be A Millionaire?” If you think the 11-night-Television-event is only for the playful, or the overimaginative and unrealistic, here’s a list of the other “Millionaire” guests:

ABC News’ George Stephanopoulos
·       ABC News’ Sam Donaldson
·       ABC News’ Cokie Roberts
·       NPR’s Mo Rocca
·       Wolf Blitzer (CNN’s “The Situation Room”)
·       Activist and radio host Rev. Al Sharpton
·       Bestselling author Jodi Picoult
·       Bill Nye, the Science Guy
·       Journalist, newscaster and author Gwen Ifill
·       Journalist Connie Chung
·       Game show legend Ken Jennings

Frankly, I wasn’t the least bit surprised to see Cokie Roberts’ name on the “Millionaire” line-up.  Since she left NPR she’s been on everything, all the time.  And to think she recently asked her viewers if Obama was “over-exposed.”

However, of all the events I look forward to at Tushka Homa, it’s the Fast-pitch Softball Tournament at Red Warrior Park.  The teams are already signing up for thr three-day tournament.  Or so I hear from Larry Wade at the Choctaw Nation.  I’ll be there chewing on a turkey leg between games.  If your team is going to the tournament be sure and post your names on our weblog.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 9:09 am

    Chahtas,,we’ll be there,,Larry Wade has advised me there is a plan underway to have a memorial at the ball fields at Tushkahoma with the names of coaches or players who have helped and supported the tourney since it’s beginning in 1978 who have passed on which I think is a awesome idea. I am hoping the planners will have it completed in time for this year’s tourney. If anyone is interested in this plan I am sure Larry will be glad to provide more info on it,,he can be reached at the tribal headquarters at (800) 522-6170,,I don’t recall the name of the person spearheading this effort but I am sure Larry can direct you to them.

  2. August 6, 2009 11:06 am

    Tks Jay for the infor. I’m certain the memorial ceremony will be something everyone will want to attend. I’ll be there. I’m also hoping Lara Mann will be able to attend. She and I have been working on this book about how the Choctaws invented the root game of base and ball. We hope to have it done by the first of next year.

    achukma,
    LeAnne

  3. August 8, 2009 1:06 pm

    That’s the book you did the interviews at Tushkahoma on last year? I am looking forward to it’s release,,

    Jay Watson
    jwatson23@msn.com
    http://www.myspace.com/chahtasfastpitchsoftball

  4. August 9, 2009 12:37 pm

    Yep. We’re still working on that book, Lara Mann and I. We recently had a workshop where scholars read our drafts of the book and made lots of suggestions to help make the book better. Mainly, it was the sections on how Choctawan, [people in the Lower Mississippi Valley around 3,000 years ago, maybe longer had ball fields that resembled baseball diamonds. These ballfields were all over the southeast next to prominent mound sites. Stayed tuned for more updates on the book from us on MK blog.

  5. Lana Armstrong permalink
    August 14, 2009 3:11 pm

    I will be looking forward to the release of your next book. I am a member of the choctaw nation of oklahoma and a student and softball player at University of llinois. I loved Mike Kings and can not wait to read more of your work.

  6. Lana Armstrong permalink
    August 14, 2009 3:15 pm

    I will be looking forward to the release of your next book. I am a member of the choctaw nation of Oklahoma and a student/ softball player at University of llinois. I loved Miko Kings (it hit me very close to home)and can not wait to read more of your work.

  7. August 15, 2009 1:12 am

    Dear Lana:

    Thanks for writing. Let me know when you are playing, I’d love to come to the games. I”ll also be at Tuskahoma! Hope to see you there.

    achukma,
    LeAnne

Leave a Reply

